North Carolina Golf Cart Street Legal Requirements

For more information on federal golf cart laws, please click here. We should probably be clear about this: we`re not going to teach you how to build a golf cart. This requires serious skills and time. What we can do is give you some tips on how to make your route legal. All golf carts have the potential to be upgraded, so you can drive them both in town and off-road. You may not be able to drive them everywhere, but a little optimization can expand your options. Check out some of the policies we provide below and visit Revel 42 Golf Carts & Powersports if you have any further questions. We have locations in Raleigh and Wilmington, North Carolina, and we proudly serve those in Clayton and Cary. Assuming your golf cart has seat belts, they should be worn at all times, whether or not you do it off-road.

If your golf cart is not attached, these will need to be installed. Like golf carts, LSV drivers must be 16 years of age and have a valid driver`s license. In order to legally drive an LSV on North Carolina roads, the vehicle must be equipped with the following information: Beyond legality, there are other important tips for safe use. Of course, you should always follow the rules of the road and posted road signs and never drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Keep in mind that on-road and off-road driving requires different skills that can change depending on the weather. Always be adaptable and cautious when approaching potentially dangerous road conditions. You must continue to wear the right safety equipment. In a golf cart, you are more exposed than other commuters and protecting yourself and all passengers with you should be your top priority. An approved golf cart can only be operated on a secondary road or a road with a speed limit of 35 miles per hour or less. However, you can cross an intersection where the speed limit is greater than 35 MPH. It`s important to note that if you don`t have these lights, you can still run your golf cart on the road, but only during the day.

In all states, a legal street golf cart must be driven by an authorized driver. Below, we`ve listed the federal requirements that any slow, legal vehicle on the road must have: You are only allowed to use a golf cart during the day. If your golf cart has two (2) headlights and two (2) taillights, it can operate at any time. In addition, you will need a registration certificate, proof of liability insurance for the car and a driver`s license while driving. North Carolina is the fifth most popular state for people looking to buy a golf cart, according to Club Car Day is a father of two and bought a Club Car brand golf cart about a year ago. According to current NHTSA interpretations and regulations, golf cars and other similar vehicles, as long as they cannot exceed 20 miles per hour, are only subject to state and local safety equipment requirements. However, if these vehicles were originally manufactured to travel at more than 20 miles per hour, they are treated as motor vehicles under federal law. Our road-certified cars meet all North Carolina state regulatory requirements and National Highway Safety Administration (NHTSA) guidelines. We also provide everything you need to make registering your golf cart legal on the street easy and efficient.

On average, a battery can last up to seven years before it needs to be replaced by an electric golf cart. These are some of the biggest requirements to make your golf cart street legal. If you intend to use your golf cart in other states, you should familiarize yourself with their requirements and laws. You`ll likely see similarities, but understanding the differences can be crucial to avoiding a ticket. Your golf cart should be able to reach a speed of at least 20-25 mph. It also needs a chassis number, reflectors, exterior mirrors, parking brake and windshield. If any of these things are missing, they need to be added before you can drive your golf cart down the road. If your cart doesn`t already contain these items, you can work with our team to order and install the parts you need to make your cart legal on the road. We are proud to partner with Red Hawk to provide world-class products that keep you and your passengers safe on the road. If you have any questions about specific installations, call us today! These include owning a chassis number, owning headlights and taillights, installing turn signals on the front and rear of the car, and adding a windshield. Golf cart drivers must have a valid North Carolina driver`s license to drive a golf cart on the roads.

We certainly can. Thanks to years of experience and a great partnership with Red Hawk Parts, we can get you on the road quickly and safely. Keep in mind that in some municipalities you can use road-approved carts, which means you can do without the requirements of the highway code. Would you like to know more about road-legal cars? Check out our article on legal golf carts on the street in North Carolina! Road-approved cars can operate on roads that have a speed limit of 35 miles per hour or less. Technically classified as a low-speed vehicle or LSV, your car is allowed to cross a road that has a higher speed limit, but you are not allowed to drive it on those roads. Golf carts can also only be used during the day, unless they have two working headlights and taillights. Wondering if you need a driver`s license to drive a golf cart on the roads? In fact, legal street carts must be driven by a person with a valid driver`s license and over the age of 16. The driver of the golf cart must be at least 16 years old and have a valid driver`s license. The driver must have the following with him: There are other physical additions you need to make to your LSV golf cart.

All road vehicles must have a license plate, which means you must register it with the DMV. It must be mounted on the bumper and be visible, just like a car. Most of what we`ve listed so far applies to all LSV golf cart owners, regardless of where they live in the United States. However, many states have their own laws on what makes a vehicle legal on the road, which must be strictly adhered to. You must be an authorized driver in your state. You will also need liability insurance in addition to registration and authorization. You can only use your golf cart on roads with a speed limit of 35 miles per hour or less, and you must be at least 16 years old to do so. These guidelines will help protect you from serious financial and legal problems in case you have an accident while driving your shopping cart. Golf carts licensed for the road may only be driven on roads with a speed limit of 35 miles per hour or less. Since a golf cart operated on North Carolina roads, although it could only be legally driven on roads with a speed limit of 35 miles per hour or less, the same laws apply when it comes to alcohol. Golf cart drivers could be charged with impaired driving, driving with open containers or other alcohol-related offences.

From grocery shopping to carpooling, Graham Day relies on his golf cart to get around downtown Raleigh. Being able to use your golf cart on the go can give you more options for using it. Just make sure you take all precautions and upgrade if necessary. If you`re not as tech-savvy, you can contact our team at Revel 42 Golf Carts & Powersports to find out how we can help you tailor your ride to your needs. We welcome all guests from Raleigh, Wilmington, Clayton and Cary, North Carolina. If you`re buying a golf cart or slow motion vehicle (LSV) and live in the state of North Carolina, you may need to familiarize yourself with the specific laws governing driving. Here`s a look at North Carolina`s golf cart laws: “In recent years, speed limits have dropped in the city of Raleigh, so it`s become much more accessible for slow vehicles like golf carts to move around the city,” Day said. Official documentation of golf cart laws can be found here.

However, if your golf cart has two headlights and two taillights, you can remove it at any time of the night. You`ll find that many golf carts come with their own lights, but it`s important to note that this is an essential requirement for running your golf cart at all times. You need headlights, turn signals and brake lights. This is both to your advantage and to help other drivers know that you are there and where you want to go. Any higher road is generally considered the main road and is not a place where you should drive your golf cart. The same goes for low-speed vehicles — although they are legally considered motor vehicles, the federal government does not allow them on its roads to protect drivers of all kinds, including those who own these vehicles. To legally travel on the road, your car must be equipped with DOT-approved headlights, taillights, turn signals, brakes, reflectors, parking brakes, mirrors, seat belts, windshield, horn and tires. Your cart must also have a VIN number and registration, and the driver must have a valid driver`s license. If you want to buy a model homologated for the street, check out our selection of models of Villager golf carts. Ready to update your current cart? We`re here to help! Contact us below or call 919-552-9351 for more information.